Gluten free diet and food alternatives

If you’ve ever explored alternative, plant-based diets or you’ve been thinking about changing your diet for health reasons, it’s likely you’ve heard a thing or two about gluten intolerance and gluten free diets. And even if you haven’t? Well, here we’ve cut out the waffle to answer some common questions around gluten free living and the tasty plant-based products that you can enjoy if you have a sensitivity to gluten.

What is gluten?

Found in common cereal grains like wheat, rye, and barley, gluten is a protein that holds food together. As you might have guessed, the word gluten actually comes from the word glue (kinda weird, huh?). Its sticky, highly elastic texture is the reason pizza and bread dough can so easily be stretched and moulded before the baking process. Pretzels, anyone?

As gluten offers no significant nutritional benefits, it’s more functional than it is beneficial for health. And the majority of people find they can easily tolerate the gluten found in common foods like bread, cereal, and baked goods. Meat alternatives such as seitan – a versatile and popular choice for veggies and vegans – are also made using the gluten protein.

For individuals with wheat or gluten sensitivity (and particularly those with Coeliac Disease) gluten will trigger a negative and sometimes serious immune response within the body causing unpleasant gut symptoms

What is a gluten free diet?

A gluten free diet is a diet which deliberately excludes products containing gluten and gluten-containing foods such as wheat, oats, barley and rye. For those with Coeliac Disease, a gluten free diet is necessary to avoid triggering a negative bodily reaction. In fact, even cross contamination within a kitchen can have serious consequences for someone with Coeliac Disease.

Many people with digestive issues who experience mild to moderate symptoms but do not have Coeliac Disease may also follow a gluten free diet to rule out a common allergen such as wheat allergy, or to cut out other components present in gluten containing foods, for example Fermentable Oligo- Di- Mono-saccharides and Polyols (FODMAPs).

Is Alpro oat milk gluten free?

While many of our tasty plant-based products are gluten free, when it comes to our oat drinks, some sneaky traces of gluten may be present. Like wheat, rye, and barley, oats may trigger a negative reaction for those with gluten sensitivity or Coeliac Disease. All allergens including oats and wheat will always be stated on the label in bold in the food ingredients list, making it easy for you to identify which plant-based products are safe for your consumption. Any products that are guaranteed gluten free will have it specifically stated on the packaging.

The good news? We’ve got plenty of other delicious plant-based dairy alternatives for you to choose from. Why not try one of our other delicious vegan drinks, yogurt alternatives and desserts, made with the finest cashews, coconuts, soya, and rice?

Is Alpro soya milk gluten free?

You betcha! Our tasty, smooth soya milk alternative is made using sustainable hulled soya beans, making it a naturally lactose, dairy, and gluten free product. Way to go, soya!

Is Alpro almond milk gluten free?

Yes! Made using gently roasted almonds, this nut-based drink is naturally gluten, dairy, and lactose free.