Is Alpro Oat Drink gluten free?

As more and more people explore the available alternatives to cow’s milk for cooking, plant-based drinks are steadily becoming the order of the day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (as well as everything else in between).

For some, the switch is driven by personal environmental or ethical convictions, whilst others are making a change after discussing with their GP, for example, because of an allergy or intolerance to milk or lactose. And as the popularity of plant-based drinks increases, whether our products are gluten-free is a common question.

Whether you’re one of the 1 in 100 people who suffer from Coeliac Disease (1), or you have a sensitivity to gluten, if you’re following a gluten-free diet, it’s important to know that the foods you consume are suitable for you, as well as consulting a healthcare professional for advice. And when it comes to our products, we're here to provide the information you need.

Are oat drinks gluten free?[1]

Gluten is the name for proteins commonly found in wheat, rye and barley ([MH2] 2), and if you have Coeliac Disease or if you’re sensitive to gluten, you’ll need to avoid it in your diet. [HB3] [PB4]

Whilst oats themselves don’t contain gluten, Alpro oat drinks aren’t suitable for a gluten-free diet. That’s because sometimes, the way in which our oat drinks are prepared means that they may come into contact with other grains, like rye, wheat and barley. As a result, it’s possible that Alpro Oat Drinks contain some small traces of gluten. (we know - sneaky).

If you’re following a gluten-free diet, it’s really important to always check the labels of any food that you buy. Allergens, including oats, should be listed in bold, so that you can be sure of which foods are fine for you to eat, and which ones aren't.

That being said, the oat may well be mighty, but it is not the only plant-based alternative to milk that’s on offer.

What Alpro drinks are gluten free?

If you’re following a gluten-free diet due to coeliac disease or an insensitivity, we know that this can be a significant lifestyle change. After all, gluten is in so many of the things we eat and drink, and often appears in places where you’d least expect to find it. Again, this is why it’s super important to check all food labels.

At Alpro, we’ve made it as easy as possible to enjoy all the creamy yumminess, without the gluten (or the animal products for that matter!). From almond and coconut to soya and cashew, we’ve got a whole range of yummy gluten-free, plant-based options to choose from.

Alpro soya drink

Alpro Soya Drink is made using non-GMO soya beans and water - you can learn all about that here. Rich in plant-protein and low in saturated fats, it is also fortified with calcium*, and vitamins D, B2 and B12**. Naturally lactose, dairy and gluten-free, Alpro Soya Drink is full of that sweet, smooth, irresistible soya flavour that tastes so good and is oh-so-versatile.

Perfect in your tea, coffee or smoothies, it is great when used in any number of hot and cold recipes. Use it in your mashed potato on top of our veggie cottage pie, or enjoy a hearty old school classic with this bread and butter pudding. Alpro soya can also be used to make:

  • pancakes

  • bread

  • mayonnaise

Oh, and it comes in a range of flavours, yummy chocolate and scrummy vanilla - what’s not to love?

Alpro almond drink

Delicate in flavour and low in sugar and fat, there’s nothing nutty about switching to Alpro Almond Drink. Made from lightly toasted Mediterranean almonds (you can learn more about how we make it here) it is not only good for the tastebuds.

A source of calcium*, Alpro Almond Drink is also fortified with vitamin D, vitamin B2 and vitamin B12, giving you plenty of reasons to experiment with some of our super tasty recipes. Take a look at our mango and banana or berry blast smoothie, or try your hand at our classic Yorkshire puddings.

You can also use your Alpro almond drink in:

  • Soups

  • Sauces and dressings

  • muffins or cakes

Alpro coconut drink

Time to add a splash of sunshine to your day, with Alpro Coconut Drink. A really tropical plant-based drink, with the added coco-nutty bonus of being gluten-free, it’s made with a simply luscious blend of coconut milk, and water.

Sweet and creamy, how you choose to enjoy Alpro coconut is entirely up to you. Experience full on flavour with this Thai green veggie curry, or start your morning with a coconut sunshine smoothie. The possibilities are endless, and you can also use it in your:

  • soups

  • sauces

  • Ice cream and other desserts

Alpro hazelnut drink

If you’re still squirrelling around to find something that really hits the spot as part of your gluten-free diet, look no further than Alpro hazelnut. We grind whole roasted hazelnuts into a creamy paste, before blending them with water and fortifying them with all the goodness of calcium* and vitamins B2 and B12**.

With a distinctly nutty flavour, Alpro Hazelnut Drink is also perfect in:

  • yummy, nutty desserts

  • smoothies

  • milkshakes

You can take a closer look at each and every one of our gluten-free, plant-based drinks below. Go on, you know you want to…

* Source of calcium. Calcium is needed for the maintenance of normal bones. A varied ,balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle are recommended for good health.

** Vitamin B12 contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.